Skip to content

Wecome to the Ribbon Cutting

January 1, 2009

This is Jumping the Asymptote, a weblog dedicated to understanding Korean culture as compared with other cultures. I got my BA in Cultural Studies and my Master’s Degree in Counselor Education, where I focused on multicultural education and counseling. I am an amateur comparative cultural analyst who hopes to one day be a professional comparative cultural analyst (a.k.a. “consultant”). I hope there will be a Ph.D. and a consulting startup in my future.

The first post is probably a good place to explain the title. An asymptote is a line which is the limiting factor for a curve. The curve continually approaches but never meets the asymptote. It comes from the Greek work asymptotos “not falling together.” If you’re the curve, it may look possible to eventually meet the asymptote, but meeting it (much less crossing/jumping it) is impossible. However, lots of people come to Korea with the unconscious idea that after some time here, they’ll be able to jump the cultural asymptote. A lot of angst disappears when one stops trying.

This weblog is dedicated to promoting understanding of Korean culture, especially for expatriates living and working in Korea. As I learn, I will share my observations in the form of essays, and you, dear reader, will voice your opinions in my comments, and deliver corrective slaps to the head when necessary.

I didn’t say whether I meant my head or yours…ha! Already you need to watch those assumptions! We all do, actually.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

