Skip to content

Separating People from Their Actions

January 21, 2009

Something I think we all need to be better at.  Found this at Roboseyo.

I think one of the underlying assumptions of this video (a person is not defined by a single action) is a good point, and I think that it is applicable in group situations as well. For example:

A people are not defined by their government (e.g. As an American, I did not support the war on drugs or the war on terror…at least not the way they were waged).

A people are not defined by the actions of others in their group (e.g. I’m an English teacher, but not a pedophile. I’m an American man, but I don’t sportfuck Korean women.)

A person is not defined by the actions of her/his progenitors.

I think if the whole world believed the above statements were true, we’d have a lot less misgivings about each other.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2009 12:19 am

    Hey. Thanks for the link and stuff.

    I’ve taken a brief look around, and added your blog to my RSS feed. I like what I see so far.

    Keep up the good work: I hope we’ll be seeing more of you on the K-blogs.

    Roboseyo

  2. Jay permalink
    January 26, 2009 3:39 pm

    True enough. One can identify as ‘anti-U.S.’ and not be ‘anti-American,’ and so on.

    I just want to point out that while governments often do not act on behalf of many or even a majority of the governed, the governed do have a responsibility to challenge ‘their’ government when it commits evil.

    For example, the government of Canada recently endorsed human rights violations in Gaza by voting against a UNHRC resolution that condemned IDF attacks on the people of Gaza. As a Canadian, I am partly responsible for ‘my’ government’s actions, and have a moral obligation to challenge them when they are wrong.

  3. Granfallon permalink
    February 1, 2009 3:05 pm

    That video is PHAT!

  4. February 14, 2009 3:47 pm

    I know I’m being a total snob here, but this video annoys me because it makes me realize people don’t even know the most basic rhetorical device that the guy in the video explains.

Leave a Reply

